GOALS…UNIMPORTANT YET NECESSARY? – by James Ray

GOALS….. UNIMPORTANT YET NECESSARY? – by James Ray
“Your goal is unimportant…yet absolutely necessary.”

Seem confusing? Paradoxical? Actually goals are a paradox in that they are nothing more than an illusion. A transparent veneer behind which true reality hides.

What do I mean?

We have been conditioned to believe that we must control the physical plane. The more money, toys, and possessions you have…the more valuable you are as a person. This is totally false and yet…somewhat true. (now you’re TOTALLY confused aren’t you?)

Stick with me and, I think I can pull this together.

What you have and what you possess have nothing to do with who you are – not really. And yet, your accomplishments are a valuable measuring device as to your level of consciousness.

It takes a bigger person to beat the odds like Donald Trump. Going millions of dollars in debt and still rebounding. It takes a bigger person to go bankrupt several times and still build a Disneyland. To build a Microsoft and then, not rest on your laurels, but step down to more actively pursue your creative passion like Gates. It takes a bigger person to proclaim, “I am the greatest” while the world scoffs at you; and all physical appearances say otherwise. Yet Muhammed Ali eventually became his proclaim. A bigger visionary to carry a $10,000,000 dollar check in your wallet and visualize receiving it while living in your broken down van. Jim Carrey’s visualization became his realization.

Are these people perfect? I cannot be the judge of that, but what I do know is that their physical accomplishments are indicative of their goals, and the level of power and consciousness in the area that they pursue.

Goals are a paradox in that they ultimately are unnecessary and yet absolutely necessary. Actually, regardless of who you are or how you are applying yourself – you and I ultimately have ONE goal. GROWTH! And growth is what is hiding behind the veneer I mentioned earlier. Your goal is only a means to an end – the ultimate end – your full self-actualization and growth!

In the grand scheme of things do you think it really matters how much money you make? What kind of car you drive? The title you have? The neighborhood you live in? Not really. It only matters to the degree that you apply yourself to something that creates passion in your heart, mind and spirit; and of course, that it necessitates your growth.

Consequently, as you choose your goals – measure them against the following criteria:

Does this goal create passion in my heart and soul? Do I have a burning desire to achieve this goal?

Does this goal (and its due date) scare me and excite me at the same time (is it “teetering edge”)?

Will this goal cause me to stretch and grow? Do I need to become a bigger person to accomplish it?

Will achieving this goal bless and provide value to others? If I achieve this will I be able to give more?
Will I need help from my Higher Source to accomplish this goal?

If you answer yes to these 5 qualities – put it in high gear and get moving! If you cannot answer yes to ANY ONE of them – reevaluate your goal.

Remember a few key principles about goals:

You are worthy of any goal you choose – you must answer the question, “Is your goal worthy of you?” Are you willing to trade your life (time, energy, commitment) for it to be accomplished?

Growth is the only goal, so learn to enjoy the journey. Once you achieve your goal it will automatically be time for a new one – the process of getting there is where the wealth, excitement and experience lie.

God wants your goals to be humanly impossible…that way he has to be part of their achievement. Make sure your goal is a BHAG (big, hairy, audacious goal) that you aren’t quiet sure HOW you are going to achieve. In this way you will build your creativity and faith.

Continued success,
Your coach,
James
====================================================
James Ray, Master of The Entrepreneurial Mindset, is the author of The Science of Success and Success Certain Coaching.

About Itouched a thought

I am a true believer of the concept that man ‘ape’s’ another quickly and never realizes that he/she lived not their lives but someone else’s. I am referencing to the role models available around us; starting from Popeye “the sailor man” to strong character like Howard Roark from fountain Head, Dr. House – T.V Series, Michael Scofield- Prison Break, Dr. Nash – A Beautiful Mind, Dr. Spencer Reid – Criminal Minds, and many others. We might have different role models, but the concept of aping is for ‘real’. I am a die hard fan of all these characters. I now guess, you must have arrived at a conclusion on how I must be thinking? Yea, that’s correct; and that’s me.
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment